Garden center. Each stone has been set and packed by hand (earth first packed by hammer, then stones packed with wood and hammer, sometimes jumping). We live in Washington, DC. Only time cement is used in the joint material is if the patio has a proper concrete foundation. Thinking of switching to concrete—-frustrated poly user….help. Do I start with stone dust and then add a top layer of topsoil? I particularly appreciate the advice on killing any weeds that get in there with hot water, vinegar or pulling them by hand vs using Round UP. Add in DG which will work its ways down. On the right hand side is modified gravel, or d.o.t road base. Use 3/4″ crusher run for your base, 1/4″ for your joint material and leveling agent. As a professional contractor, I generally just purchase road base, gravel, and compact it for my foundation. The joint however stays put….now you have a hollow void, either underneath the stone, or just beneath the joint. wow). In my experience however, that was a rare exception to the rule. I used the natural dirt to lay and level and pressed the flagstone cracks with the same.

Jim. I have mixed feelings about putting pea gravel under a tree. Like all new things, it takes a minute before you realize the long term results. Wanted advice for DIY backyard basketball court of size 42 feet wide and 28 feet long. So I use a 4 foot level. See that off-white material between the flagstones? How many inches would you do the compacted aggregate base? We had flagstones placed in our outdoor shower about 5 years ago.