I’m not sure what kind of moth it is but its a bit small and light brown with dark brown and goldish stripes on its wings. What are my chances of finding a start in my yard. Select from premium Polyphemus Moth Caterpillar of the highest quality. Polyphemus Moth in startle display mode on rusted old sawmill blade abandoned in forest. In any case I’ll be subscribing in your feed and I hope you write again soon! The cocoon should be fine (as long as you only cut the outer silk “shell,” not the actual developing moth inside). That would be very unfortunate. I need to write a moth mating guide…. I’m totally new at this, but am fascinated by the process and want to help, especially if their numbers are in any way compromised. The Polyphemus Moth is the most widespread silk moth in North America, ranging from Southern Canada, to all 48 of the continental United States. I’d really like to raise these successfully. Can she to lay eggs before she has mated? The species is widespread in continental North America, with local populations found throughout subarctic Canada and the United States. I live outside Tulsa Oklahoma. That means a lot! Is there any way to tell?todat at 11:51 am, she is still laying them. The most obvious difference is the plumose antennae. I change the leaves out every day from a variety of trees and he hasn’t eaten once I feel so bad for the little guy and I’m not sure what to do. I will be receiving my order soon of 60 Antheraea Polyphemus eggs. How long will it be this way and if my husband needs to uncover this car, will it harm it? I just found a Polyphemus moth on my front porch, shaking with its legs pulled in. That’s the one thing that I noticed about the eggs is that they were pale white. I know it is normal for birds not to eat at first. Hi, about a month ago I started a leaf collection and was collecting leaves and found one with a cocoon on it, I wasn’t sure until tonight and I didn’t know what kind until now. After about an hour and a half I s